Introductions

Yes that's me, hard at work

Yes that’s me, hard at work

My name is Lydia Evans and I’m the writer of a young adult fiction series. Haven’t heard of me? That’s okay, because I haven’t completed the series yet. The first book in the series is called Hell High (at least at the moment) and it hasn’t been published yet. Although its not for lack of trying.  Let me explain…

 It all started two and a half years ago. I had just finished a lack luster YA paranormal book that left me thinking about how some books are just crappy! I love YA fiction! I love fiction in general. I love book crazes and books in pop culture and movie crossover and the whole nine. I ate, slept and breathed Twilight. I put an eyeliner scar on my head and went to the movie theater two hours early for a midnight IMAX showing of Harry Potter, and I was sitting on pins and needles pryaing that somehow they would manage to cast Alex Pettyfer as Jace for The City of Bones movie.

 So why was I reading some craptastic book? Hell! I could write better than that drivel. So that day, I wrote the first 11 pages of Hell High.  Then I wrote, and wrote, and wrote, and eventually, a few months later, I had a completed manuscript.  Hooray! 

I started researching literary agents and how to get my manuscript published.  I proofread my book, made more edits and changes, and then shipped it off to some friends for more edits, reviews, comments and the like.  A few months later, I had a finished product.

Looking back, I should have known it wouldn’t be that easy.  So for the future benefit of struggling novelists everywhere, here is an account of my non-existent writing career.  I hope you, my hypothetical readers, find it enjoyable – and more likely than not – laughable!

2 thoughts on “Introductions

Leave a Reply

