Inspiration

inspire

Where do you find inspiration as a writer?  It’s a pretty common question.  So here’s where I find it.  Everywhere.  Music I hear on the radio or remember hearing, television programs, books, articles, news casts, people I meet during my day, generic experiences like grocery shopping or cleaning my floors.  Inspiration is everywhere.  Recently I was on my way to work, sitting in traffic and this oldie, but goodie song came on.  I won’t tell you what it was because you’ll all laugh at me, but it was a very hokey song by a past American Idol Star.   Okay, okay, twist my arm, I’ll tell you.  It was Stronger by Kelly Clarkson.

Yes - Kelly Clarkson!

Yes – Kelly Clarkson!

Yes!  I admit it!  As I listened to the song, I started seeing my main character at a club, and this song was playing and people were dancing in the background.  Naturally it was a perfect fit for how he was feeling at the time (even though I know HE would never associate the song with his feelings because let’s face it, he’s a dude), but for me, it was super appropriate.   The scene started to play out in my head as I listened to the song through.

I have crazy playlists for my books (for the two I’m working on at least!).  I add to them often and listen to them constantly.  I’m not the only one.  You can check out Stephenie Meyer’s and Ally Condie’s playlists on their websites. Matched Playlist and Twilight Playlist

On a more cerebral level, I’m inspired by local people who made it big.  Living up here in WNY, it’s not like living in NYC or Los Angeles.  It’s quiet up here.  Not to say it’s not a creative place to be, but we’re not known for putting out superstars.

She's from Canandaigua

She’s from Canandaigua

People like Phillip Seymour Hoffman, Kristen Wigg, Lou Gramm, Taye Diggs, and Teddy Geiger (dating Emma Stone is considered making it big to me!).

I find other authors inspirational.  I probably should have put that before the local peeps, but this is my blog, so I’m not going to worry about it!  I carried an article about Kathryn Stockett’s The Help getting turned down 60 times around with me for two years (I shit you not).  I still have it!  You can find it here: Kathryn Stockett Article

I find Amanda Hocking to be inspirational.  I have this article about her pinned up on the cork board over my desk Amanda Hocking Self-Publishing Success

Also JK Rowling and Stephenie Meyer are inspirational to me – especially considering they were both Moms who wrote when they could fit it in.  Ms. Rowling wrote from a local cafe to save money on heat, and Stephenie was taking care of three kids when she wrote Twilight.  I love this quote from her website where she talks about “making breakfast for hungry children, dressing and changing the diapers of said children, finding the swimsuits that no one ever puts away in the right place, etc” while trying to find time to write (Stephenie Trying to Write with Kids).

Veronica Roth is inspirational to me because she wrote Divergent at 22.  That’s just plain nuts and I’m totally jealous.

22 really???

22 really???

I’m inspired all the time.  One day, if I’m lucky, someone will find me inspirational.

2 thoughts on “Inspiration

  1. Pingback: Top 5 Teddy Geiger Songs | Graphics are Overrated

  2. Pingback: Stuck in the Middle | The Writer's Wrong

Leave a Reply

