Stuck in the Middle

I’m stuck in the middle. I’ve re-read my manuscript. I’ve fixed typographical errors, I’ve added notes where there are scenes that need to be added. I’ve also added a subplot (in theory).  The thing is, now I need to actually WRITE all this new stuff, and I’m getting nowhere. I think I need to revisit my inspiration blog post! (Yes – this is a link in my blog to my blog – don’t judge me)

Inspiration Fairy - are you in the room???

Inspiration Fairy – are you in the room???

I didn’t mind sitting in my basement and editing. However, I’m finding my basement digs less conducive to writing new material.

That's me in my subterranean workspace

That’s me in my subterranean workspace

I was reading an article today about Veronica Roth, author of Divergent, and it had a picture of her with the caption, “Veronica Roth awaits inspiration at one of her favorite lakeshore writing spots.”  Veronica Roth Article

Veronica Roth awaiting inspiration

Veronica Roth looking schnazzy while awaiting inspiration

I wonder if there’s room for me there?  Her inspiration spot looks way better than mine!  I should probably find my own favorite writing spot, preferably outside of the basement.

I’m sure I’m not the first or last writer to be stuck.  I just saw this totally kick-ass quote on Cassandra Clare’s Tumblr page CC Tumblr

Don’t quit. It’s very easy to quit during the first 10 years. Nobody cares whether you write or not, and it’s very hard to write when nobody cares one way or the other. You can’t get fired if you don’t write, and most of the time you don’t get rewarded if you do. But don’t quit. ~ANDRE DUBUS

Not that I have any plans to quit, but an inspirational quote never hurt.

Leave a Reply

