Freelance Editors – Got an Arm and Leg to Spare?

Yuck Yuck Yuck - get it?

Yuck Yuck Yuck

I came across freelance editing services on The Writeditor’s blog while submitting my first 500 words to her, and wondered if that were something I’d benefit from. I hadn’t thought about it prior to that. My manuscript has been edited by friends and colleagues –  all who have terrific punctuation and grammar skills, but who also like me. I wondered if my manuscript could benefit from an objective eye, and if so, how much would that set me back.

While pondering this all, I came across one of Chuck Sambuchino’s blog posts on Writer’s Digest and noticed he also offers freelance editing services. If you follow me on Twitter, you’ll notice I re-tweet a lot of Chuck’s articles. He posts a lot of information about agents looking for clients, how to query agents, etc. Basically, lots of stuff aspiring writers can benefit from.  Check out his blog on Writer’s Digest here.

He looks respectable right?  I think the vest adds that professional touch.

He looks respectable right? I think the vest just screams: “Take my advice. I’m a  Professional!”

Logically, I wondered how much does freelance editing cost? The answer is: a freaking lot! Ellen Brock, The Writeditor charges anywhere from $9 per 1,000 words to $30 per 1,000 words. For my modest 61,000 word manuscript, that equates to $549 for the cheap package, to $1,830 for the deluxe editing package. Yeowzers!

I sent Check Sambuchino an email requesting rates for just query letters (since I’m sure I can’t afford his services to edit my entire manuscript) and received a response that he’ll edit a query letter for $80, and edit the revisions based on his edits for another $50 (if you can follow that). Considering my epic 71 rejection failure the last time I queried, $80 seemed like a good investment.

A visual representation of my querying efforts last time around

A visual representation of my querying efforts last time around.

Let’s face it. Last time I queried, either a) my query letter sucked or b) my sample pages sucked or c) all of the above. I’ve revamped my first couple chapters, so hopefully that will eliminate option b this time around, and if I get some professional help with the query, I think I stand a much better chance this time around.

After this round though, if I get no requests, I’m shelving this mo-fo and writing the next book in the series!

One thought on “Freelance Editors – Got an Arm and Leg to Spare?

  1. Pingback: Query Letter Edits (from a professional!) | The Writer's Wrong

Leave a Reply

