Criticism – I can take it!

Thank you Sir, I'll take another.

Thank you Sir, may I have another?

While trawling the blogosphere, I recently noticed a post from a fellow blogger who is also a freelance editor.  This blogger does a thing called “First Page Fridays” where she takes the first 500 words of an author’s unpublished manuscript, posts it on her blog, and then edits it, posting the edits and rating the first 500 words as a whole, on her blog.  I’m totally going to take her up on it!  The blog is by The Writeditor, and info on her “First Page Critiques” or “First Page Fridays” is at The Writeditor.  I’m 20% through my current round of revisions, but I can go back and spiffy up the first 500 words so I can submit them.

Why would I open myself up to such open criticism?  Because I want to make my book BETTER.  I was reading something posted on a blog, and the blogger asked people to review and comment on the material, but followed the request with, “be kind,” or something like that.  I thought to myself – how can you be kind when you criticize?  I guess that would fall under the “constructive criticism,” category, but anytime someone points out the deficiencies in your work, it’s not necessarily “kind.”  I mean you can do it without being a complete dick, but I wouldn’t say critiquing someone else’s work is “kind” either.

Take THAT!

Take THAT!

And I am totally okay with that.  So I’m going to submit my first 500 words to Ms. Ellen Brock and hopefully she’ll take a look at them and make some good suggestions at how to improve them.  It reminds me of that competition I entered where I submitted the first 250 words of my manuscript because, says the competition, potential readers review the first 250 words of a book before deciding whether to purchase it or not.  Whether that’s true or not, I don’t know, but it seems likely.  So I’m willing to give it a try and hope to get some good feedback I can use!  So bring it on!  I can take it!

Leave a Reply

