Winning

Winning

Back in November, I posted a blog entry about writing contests.  Read it here.  I said I was going to enter a writing competition where you submit the first 250 words of your manuscript in the hopes of winning the following (tell them what they’ve won!):

The Grand Prize Winner will have the opportunity to submit an entire manuscript to YA literary agent Regina Brooks AND receive a free, 10-week writing course, courtesy of Gotham Writers’ Workshop, plus a collection of gourmet teas from Possibiliteas.co!

The Top Five Entrants (including the Grand Prize winner) will receive a 15-minute, one-on-one pitch session with Regina Brooks, one of New York’s premier literary agents for young adult books. They will also receive commentary on their submissions with editors from Scholastic, Feiwel and Friends, Random House/Penguin, Kensington, Kimani Tru, Candlewick, Bloomsbury, Simon and Schuster, and Sourcebooks. In addition, they will receive a year’s subscription to The Writer magazine!

I didn’t completely forget I entered this competition, but it was months ago, and it kind of fell of my radar.  So imagine my surprise when I opened my mailbox today and saw this!

I won something!  Hooray!

I won something! Hooray!

 

The first 50 entrants in the contest won a copy of “Writing Great Books for Young Adults.”  Yay me!  Naturally this doesn’t mean I’m any closer to winning the actual competition (and I most likely will not), but still, it always feels good to win something!

If I think a little harder about this (which is usually a dangerous thing for me since I tend to over-analyze things), I didn’t enter the 2013 YA Discovery Contest the minute they started accepting submissions.  I think I submitted the afternoon of the first day – not at 12:01 am.  I’m thinking it was like 2 or 3 in the afternoon.  So, if I was one of the first 50 entrants, and I submitted my entry 15 hours after the competition opened, I wonder if I can calculate the number of entrants (probably not because my math skills suck – but that won’t slow me down!  I’ going to try anyway!  Watch me fail!).  I think I’m missing something here…oh yeah…what number entrant I was.  Shoot.  Well let’s say for the sake of argument, I was the 50th entrant.  Using the sheer laws of math, we get 2,400 entrants.  Pretty stiff competition!

I realize no one gets this reference but me since I have a kid and this movie was in the $5 bin - but when I think of there's a line about the "sheer laws of math" in it which this reminds me of.  I believe this movie is Hugh Grant's best work.

I realize no one gets this reference from The Pirates movie but me (since I have a kid, and this movie was in the $5 bin), but there’s a line in it about using the “sheer laws of math” which was in reference to someone using math to calculate something totally incalculable – like I just did! Therefore it’s highly applicable! On a side note – I believe this movie is Hugh Grant’s best work.

 

According to the competition website, “Winners will be selected by February 6, 2014. An email will be sent to all entrants on February 21, 2014 announcing the winners.”  So I still have a while to wait – but if nothing else, I won a book out of it!  Or – if you’re a pessimist, you could say I bought a $15 book from it, since I paid $15 to enter the competition, but I’m going to go with the “winning!” point of view!

3 thoughts on “Winning

  1. Pingback: Amazon’s 2014 Breakthrough Novel Award | The Writer's Wrong

Leave a Reply

