And the winner is…not you

Even Harley thinks I suck.

Even Harley thinks I suck.

Even though I’m reticent to bring up my recent failures, in the interests of full disclosure, and the purpose of this blog, I feel it necessary.   So I’m going to try this band-aid style.  I’m going to hold my breath and type this as quickly as possible.

Back in November of 2013 I entered a contest that judged entries based on the first 250 words of a manuscript.  Over three months later, I found out that I lost.  Big shock right?  No, of course not, I am the WRITER’S WRONG after all.  But I won’t lie. Anytime you enter a competition, even if the chances of winning are infinitesimal and unreachable, you still hope with a tiny illogical part of your brain that you’ll win.  So while losing wasn’t a shock, it did stink.  And to be honest, not only did I lose, but I wasn’t one of the 4 finalists either.  So super loser here.

I have no idea where this picture came from, but it's freaking awesome.

This should be Publisher Clearinghouse’s new motto.

The upshot was I had everything timed so that if I did lose the 2013 YA Discovery Contest, I would be ready to enter the 2014 Amazon Breakthrough Novel contest.  Either way – I would need to complete both a pitch and my manuscript by February 22nd, so I went to work.  I finished my edits, re-writes, and my pitch, and as planned, upon finding out I lost the 2013 YA Discovery Contest, I entered Amazon’s contest.

The point of all this rambling is this: I’m glad I hedged my bet.  The disappointment felt by losing the 2013 YA Discovery Contest was mitigated by the excitement I had for entering Amazon’s contest.  I may lose that too, but it made me feel better to enter, and naturally that’s all that matters!

2 thoughts on “And the winner is…not you

  1. Commiserations Lydia 😦 Rejection is an occupational hazard for us writers – so I think that timing your entry for Amazon was a great idea. Like you said, you have to keep trying and hedging your bets 🙂

Leave a Reply

