Hurry up and Wait

Standing Outside a Broken Phone Booth With Money in My Hand (album cover art) I wonder if I'm the only person who remembers this song.  But it seems appropriate for this post!

Standing Outside a Broken Phone Booth With Money in My Hand (album cover art). I wonder if I’m the only person who remembers this song?  It seems appropriate for this post to me!

Like the other 9,999 people who entered this year’s Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award contest, I’m awaiting March 18th with little patience and great anticipation.  I’ve started writing the second book in my series to keep busy.  I’m so excited to FINALLY be writing the second installment in my series!  I made an outline to get started, and flipped back through my notes to see what other ideas I had for the second novel before I started.  To my delight, I found an outline I had made a few years ago for the same book.  Comparing the two, they were almost identical.  Looks like I’ve been ready to write this book for a while, and my vision for it hasn’t changed much in the intervening years since I finished Hell High! 

I also sent a copy of the version of Hell High that I submitted to Amazon to a friend of mine to read.  Guess you would call him a “beta reader.”  I’m very excited for his feedback!  I have another copy I have to get out to another beta reader as well (I need to put that on my “to-do” list before I forget actually….).

I’ve also been frequenting the Amazon Breakthrough Novel discussion boards to commiserate with my fellow contestants.  Lots of interesting, witty and humorous people over there! 

I’m not going to lie.  Having the contest close was a great relief!  Now I can just work on my next novel and relax.

Leave a Reply

