Army of 8,000

Stranger

Hi, I’m Lydia and I’m a loser.”
“Hi Lydia.”

I feel like I spent the last week in the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award first cut-ee support group! And you know? It’s not a bad group! Seriously! Getting my pitch cut sucks. I’m not gonna lie. It hurts. Especially because I really believe it was a great pitch (a little voice in my head says “everyone thought their pitch was great you LOSER!”).

The upside to losing is the support from the army of 8,000.  In the past week I’ve met a lot of super nice cyber people, all with a kind word to say.  It is definitely the upside of being cut to meet and support, and get support from, fellow ABNA peeps!  Even those that made the cut (and I can honestly say KUDOS to all who made the first cut!.  Just because I got cut, in no way diminishes the happiness I feel for those that made it through!  Reminds me of the lady who stupidly posted an article about how JK Rowling should quit writing so other authors could succeed.  What a freaking moron!  Just because someone else is successful, in no way impacts your chances of success.  Fortunately I’m a somewhat intelligent individual – and I totally get that! – and this is the longest parenthetical ever).   So congrats to all of you who made it through.  Really!

I'm sticking with the Joker theme. Who doesn't love Batman: Arkham Asylum?  Mark Hamill is one seriously cool dude.

I’m sticking with the Joker theme. Who doesn’t love Batman: Arkham Asylum? Mark Hamill is one seriously cool dude.

So what’s next for me you ask? Well I spent a good 24 hours sulking and moping and whining on Twitter and on the ABNA discussion boards (thank you all those who listened to me and tried to pull me out of my funk), and now I’m over it!  I’m going to take my Twitter buddy @ChalanJohnson‘s advice and try a query or two and see how that goes.  I’m also going to take Strange Writer’s advice and submit to a publisher who accepts submissions.  So thank you ladies!

Not quite sure how I started on this homage to the Joker, but no homage to Joker is complete without the Joker of my teens - the Batman Animated Series version.

Not quite sure how I started on this homage to the Joker, but no Joker mashup is complete without the Joker of my teens – the Batman: The Animated Series version (love you Mark Hamill!  Luke Skywalker AND the Joker?  He takes the cake for nerd girl dream boat!).

I’m also going to spend some time on my new book – tentatively called Hell High 2 – Hell Rebel.  Yay me!  I’ve been waiting to write this book for over a year now – and now I can buckle down and start putting the proverbial pen to paper!

The Joker of my youth.  Anyone else remember the Batdance?

As long as I’m at it, I may as well finish up with the Joker of my youth. Anyone else remember the Batdance?

4 thoughts on “Army of 8,000

  1. I feel your pain. I sulked and fell backwards down the shame spiral staircase until I landed at the bottom. Luckily I didn’t let my ego go up too far. Good luck on your submissions. I’ll be in a boat rowing right next to you.

Leave a Reply

