Do a Mom a Solid

This is me during our X-mas photo session this past X-mas.  My son was not cooperating, and it was a complete nightmare (even with the sweetest, most understanding photographer).

This is me during our X-mas photo session this past X-mas. My son was not cooperating, and it was a complete nightmare.

 

I’m going to do something different. I’m going to step outside my blog comfort zone, and blog about a subject near and dear to my heart. Motherhood.

I just read this article called, “10 Types of Moms That Suck.” Feel free to read it if you can find it. I’m not going to post a link, because it sucked.  Let me explain.

Being a Mom is hard. Really, really, really hard. And however you choose to parent your kids, if it works for your family, and doesn’t hurt anyone, well that’s fine. So Mom’s stop being so judgmental! Do another Mom a solid, and be supportive.

It’s easy to pick on other Moms.  I get that.  And I’d be lying if I said I’ve never done it myself.  But remember (and I will too) that you don’t know what that person is going through, or what circumstances govern that Mother’s decisions.  So cut her some slack.  I know it’s hard – but try, try, try not to judge.

If you choose to feed your kids all organic food, great! You feed your kids Kraft Mac-n-Cheese? Also great. Whatever. It’s none of my business and it’s no one else’s business either, including random Internet bloggers!  Parenting is hard! And if you choose to breast feed or not, or can fit into your pre-pregnancy jeans 2 weeks after giving birth, or not, it’s okay. There is no bar you have to meet, and you shouldn’t feel guilty for your parenting choices because some blogger out there thinks giving kids kale to eat is unreasonable (seriously lady? Why is that your business? Moms – if you can get your kids to eat kale, you deserve a medal!).

 

Another photo from my colossal photo shoot failure.  Note the screaming 2-year old in the middle of a parent sandwich.

Another photo from my colossal photo shoot failure. Note the screaming 2-year old in the middle of a parent sandwich.  “FOR THE LOVE OF GOD CHILD!  WE JUST WANT TO LOVE YOU!  WHY IS THAT SO AWFUL???”

 

The message here is that as Moms we’re all in this together. No matter how you choose to raise your kids, or what you choose to feed them, or how you choose to discipline them, you’re a parent too. How about some solidarity here instead of vindictiveness and jealousy?

And not everyone is judgmental.  I can think of dozens of small acts of kindness I’ve been on the receiving end of since becoming a parent.  The sweet elderly lady who saw my son playing on the floor at a store and gave him a dollar, and that lady at the grocery store who let me ahead of her in the check-out line while my son was having a melt down (thank you kind random strangers who I will never see again, but who made a lasting impression).  Just this morning I was in the elevator with a lady from work who asked how my son was.  I pointed to my fat lip and said, “He’s fine, but he’s bad!  He head-butted me this morning!”

She replied sagely, “That hurts.”

“You’ve had that happen?”

“Every Mom has that happen.”

“So my kid isn’t evil?”

“Naw – they’re all like that.  You have my sympathies.”

See this cute little face???  It is the ONLY reason this boy has made it to 2 years old.  I think that's why God makes little kids so darn cute.  So you don't kill them.

See this cute little face??? It is the ONLY reason this boy has made it to 2 years old. I think that’s why God makes little kids so darn cute.

 

Thank you!  Thank you for understanding and some commiseration.  It doesn’t cost anything to be nice.  So next time you see that Mom in the store with a screaming child – or worse – childREN – give her a smile and a nod.  Let her know you understand that this Momming gig is tough work, and you know where she’s coming from.

The quote, “Everyone you meet is fighting a battle you know nothing about. Be kind,” came to mind while I was writing this.  But I think it needs some editing to fit into this situation.  Something like, “Everyone with a small child is fighting a constant, never-ceasing, uphill battle, so for heaven’s sake, be nice to them.”

Leave a Reply

