Like a Virgin – Heee

virgin_widget14

As usual, I’m behind the eight-ball here.  I entered a contest called “Like a Virgin 2014” or #LV14 as those cool cats on Twitter are calling it, and they’re hosting a blog hop – getting to know you – cyber shin-dig type deal.  Naturally I totally forgot about this, and checking my Twitter feed before snuggling up with my current read (Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier in case you were wondering) saw the blog hop was live, and I hadn’t even looked at the blog hop questions.  So here are my answers to said questions.  Maybe now you will see through a little window into the enigma that is Lydia Evans.  Or “THE” Lydia Evans as I like to refer to myself – almost never.

Question 1) How do you remember your first kiss?

I was under a large flowering bush in my side yard with one of the boys who lived next door.  I think I must have been around 7.  That’s about all I remember about it too (darn you 7-year old memory!).

Question 2) What was your first favorite love song?

The first love song I can remember was “Every Rose Has A Thorn” (or is it “Every Rose Has it’s Thorn?”  Either way – I was probably singing the wrong lyrics).  I also remember some vague song from the group Nelson (remember them?) that I loved and listened obsessively to back in 1987 or so.  I can’t remember what song we picked as “our song” for my first serious relationship song, but I remember my boyfriend at the time saying we should have gone with Prince’s “I Will Die for You.”

Question 3) What’s the first thing you do when you begin writing for the day?

Usually I write at night, and the only consistent thing there is that I always have a beverage.  A glass of wine, or a cup of tea.  I re-read the last thing I wrote and realize it wasn’t total crap after all, then I sit for a bit and think about what happens next, and then I write.

Question 4) Who’s the first writer who truly inspired you to become a writer?
She who shall not be named.  Seriously.  As opposed to most “how I became a writer” stories from people who knew they would be writers from early childhood, I had no desire to be a writer whatsoever until I was about 30 and read a particularly bad paranormal YA book.  I thought to myself, “I can write better than this crap.”  And so I did.  Whether or not it is in fact better than She Who Shall Not be Named’s crap is yet to be seen.  I give it 50/50.

Question 5) Did the final version of your book have the same chapter it started with?

Nope.  Not even close.  My poor prologue is sitting with Baby in the corner.

Question 6) For your first book, which came first: major characters, plot or setting?

It was the plot.  That was an epiphany moment.  The characters and setting took more time and consideration.

Question 7) What’s the first word you want to roll off the tip of someone’s tongue when they think of your writing?

Meaningful.

Books have a way of pulling at our hearts.  For me, this usually relates to making me cry.  Hard.  At the end of For Whom the Bell Tolls, I cried for hours. I was devastated.  When Mad Eye Moody died in HP and the Deathly Hallows, I balled like a child.  I pretty much just cried through all of The Five People You Meet in Heaven, and I don’t even remember the plot of Message in a Bottle, but I remember how I felt when I read it (translation – I cried).  Sometimes books have a more subtle effect on us.  Characters we think about from time to time, and miss, and wonder how they’re doing now.  Even though completely fictional – they’ve come to life for us.   I hope that someone reads my book and finds it meaningful to them in some small way.  Or at least less crappy than the worst book they ever read.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

24 thoughts on “Like a Virgin – Heee

  1. What great answers! I DO remember Nelson as well, and might have had one of my many fangirl crushes on them in the late 80’s. *sigh* But my favorite answer is #7. I would love for my books to be meaningful as well. When I write a character, I’m not thinking, “Will readers like her?”, I’m thinking, “What can a reader identify with her and what she goes through?”. Good luck in the contest!

  2. I totally remember Nelson! I can even picture the video for their song (it had something to do with rain, I think), it was faded and soft. They had their long bleach blonde hair…those were the days. lol.

    I’m usually more productive at night as well.

    Best of luck!

  3. Ooo, LOVE Daphne duM. She’s one of my idols when it comes to atmosphere! Wondering if “she who shall not be named” is the same “she” that several of us have already mentioned as inspiring us in a weird kind of I CAN DO THIS way.

Leave a Reply

